Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 335

Jarn is a human-like alien who was stranded on Earth roughly 125,000 years ago. He has found a band of early humans, and in spite of his species’ bar against interfering he cannot leave them to die — which is causing him increasing problems. This entry in Jarn’s Journal can be found on my main blog in a slightly longer form, and the Journal in its entirety is being posted as I write it on my author site.

I think I’ve gotten myself in over my head.

My well supplies far more water than I need, and with counterweighting it is no great problem to teleport the filled containers to Storm Cloud’s group. Filling the containers and finding the group each day takes far more work, though they are marking their trail after a fashion. No doubt their marking method is as obvious to them as it is hardly visible to me. Another two days, and they should be in country with grass and surface water. The herds are only a little beyond them.

Lion’s group is more difficult – they seem unable to accept that I can keep them supplied with water if they leave their mudhole, which is going to dry up soon, and teleporting fresh kills to their site is simply not going to work long term – for one thing, it’s hard on the local predators. And it won’t solve the problem of water. They don’t seem able to understand that I can do some things that they cannot but that I can’t do everything, and they keep trying to argue that it would be much simpler if I just made it rain.

Worst yet, I’ve spotted two more groups of people who speak the language I’ve learned. I was going to leave them alone, since I’ve found Storm Cloud’s group, but because of what I found today I have to rethink that.

Be sure to visit the other authors on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 335

  1. Aston West says:

    Apparently Lion’s group isn’t the only one that doesn’t understand that Jarn can’t do everything…

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    Jarn’s interfering seems to have stirred up an ant’s nest…There’s just no pleasing everyone, is there. Great snippet as usual.

  3. Ooooh – what did he find today?! Intriguing!

  4. gayleramage says:

    Yes, I’d like to know what he’s found, too. The line about the group wanting him to make it rain is quite heartbreaking. Great snippet!

  5. I see all kinds of problems arising from his interference, such as the other groups wondering why Lion’s group has more water and taking steps to try to get some for themselves. Maybe I’m being pessimistic, but this can’t be good in the long run. Maybe Jarn will see the wisdom of his species’ non-interference policy.

    • Oh, he’s hardly started the problems yet.
      Any chance you could advise me on Smashwords, Amazon, etc. for some novelette-length pieces I’d like to put out as free or 99 cent, in hopes of getting more readers for my published books? One’s between Tourist Trap and my trilogy; the other two are werewolf stories with a rather non-standard werewolf.

  6. Ha ha. I like that “just make it rain.”

  7. Katje says:

    I love the comment about making it rain.

    Jarn, you have to learn how to delegate. Or, you know, just not take on so much stuff. (I have that problem too.)

  8. The lion group looks like a problem. And I like how the trial marks are probably obvious–to them, anyway.

  9. pippajay says:

    Nice cliff-hanger at the end.

Leave a Reply

