Jarn’s Journal Year 2, Day 325 #sffsat

Once again, I am giving a snippet of Jarn’s Journal. This is part of the early prehistory of the Confederation, site of my award-winning science fiction novels, Tourist Trap and Homecoming. A slightly longer version of this snippet may be found on my main blog; the Journal as written to date can be found on my author site.

 Year 2, Day 325

Even the predators are hungry.

Not that I let that stop me from stealing two of their fresh kills and teleporting them to the vicinity of the camp I found yesterday. The shaman, who goes by the name of Lion, begged me to stay, and share my wisdom with them as I had with Storm Cloud’s group. Wisdom? Knowledge perhaps, thanks to the computer library, but it is these people who seem able to adapt that knowledge to their environment. Was it not Songbird who combined her knowledge of basketry with the information in the computer to devise the fish traps?

Well, I could teleport in enough food to keep them from starving from areas where the drought had not been so extreme—but visiting them occasionally would be sufficient for that. I pointed to the half-moon, visible in the daylight sky. “I will return when the moon is full,” I told Lion. “And I will join you at the Gather.

Don’t forget to sample the other science fiction snippets on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2, Day 325 #sffsat

  1. gayleramage says:

    Interesting piece. Everybody has knowledge of something, and you never know when that knowledge will come in handy. Brilliant image accompanying the snippet. 🙂

  2. Out of all the entries from JARN’S JOURNAL that I’ve read so far, this one made me feel that Jarn was embracing this new world. I find it ironic that he wasn’t ready to say he had wisdom to impart when as a reader I now see him as very wise. Good job!

  3. jccassels says:

    Jarn is interfering. He’s gone beyond observing. He’s shaping the future culture now. Interesting.

  4. Let’s hope his return on the full moon is not too late.

  5. T.K. Toppin says:

    Interesting, indeed. I suppose it’s hard not to interfere when you see people starving.

  6. Little changes make large differences. I wonder how his transporting things around will affect their culture.

  7. Aston West says:

    Hope the interferences don’t cause bigger issues…

  8. pippajay says:

    The problem is if they become too dependent on him, can they survive without him?

Leave a Reply

