Jarn’s Journal Year 2, Day 320 #sffsat

Year 2, Day 320

I don’t think the rains are going to come.

Oh, there have been a couple of showers, but barely enough to lay down the dust. Everything around me seems to be burning, except what is already burned. I am in no danger—the well is providing all of the water I need, and the shelter, built from the remains of the escape capsule, is fireproof. I hunt, fish and gather far to the north, where the rains have fallen and the world is green. But how are the nomads faring? Can they find enough food? Where are they?

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a fictional alien who was stranded on Earth roughly 125,000 years ago. He has befriended a tribe of local early humans, but they have left to follow the herds northward. A longer version of this day’s entry is on my main blog, and I am transferring Jarn’s story (which forms part of the background for my two science fiction novels, Homecoming and Tourist Trap) to my Author website as it is written.

Have a look also at the other talented authors whose work is featured on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2, Day 320 #sffsat

  1. T.K. Toppin says:

    Yet another great little snippet!!

  2. jccassels says:

    Wonderful snippet! I’m worried about the Nomads.

  3. gayleramage says:

    Great snippet. I hope the nomads are heading to the north, too!

  4. I was worried about Jarn, but it appears he’s good. Now, I’m worried about the nomads. Great snippet, as always! Keeps me coming back every week!

  5. Very good. You capture a great deal of emotion with very few words.

  6. Another great snippet. Jarn’s story keeps my interest.

  7. pippajay says:

    If they are as in tune with their environment as their lifestyle suggests, perhaps they knew better than to return.

Leave a Reply

