Jarn’s Journal #SFFSat

Year 2, Day 280

The rains are late. Either that, or they have been early the last two years.

Is it possible that they will not reach this far south, that the nomads will not return? Certainly they follow the herds, and the herds will not come south until the vegetation greens, after the rains have fallen. In the two years I have been here, the rains have come before the summer solstice. But my crude calendar says the solstice is today, and there is no sign of rain. Only of dust and smoke, which forced me to levitate to see the direction in which the sun set. I did not even see cloud tops, or dry lightning.

The stream has gone dry, and I am seeing more and more dead animals on my exploratory flights. To the west are sand dunes – I don’t explore much that way.

This is an excerpt from Jarn’s Journal, a journal purportedly kept by a human-like alien, Jarn, who was stranded on Earth, in Africa, roughly 125,000 years ago. A longer version is on my main blog; the journal to date is on my author website. Do visit the other members of the Science Fiction Saturday blog ring, and leave comments if you can.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jarn’s Journal #SFFSat

  1. Oh, crap! This doesn’t bode well. Is it time for Jarn to migrate as well?

  2. gayleramage says:

    Yeah, it sounds like Jarn should try and find a better, wetter climate somewhere.

    • Gayle, Patrick, there are things he feels he can’t do without (like the computer) in the shelter, which was rebuilt from the wreck of his escape capsule. On the other hand, he’s been forced to learn a lot about his own abilities since the nomads left.

  3. jccassels says:

    What will Jarn do next?

  4. T.K. Toppin says:

    Yet another intriguing snippet into Jarn’s journey. Good stuff.

  5. Time to follow the herds I guess…

  6. nrgalloway24 says:

    This is so suspenseful. I’m biting my nails (in between typing, of course). I am really worried about poor Jarn. I hope he makes a decision. By the way, I wouldn’t want to leave my computer either. Hopefully, his other skills and what he has learned will see him through.

    Great snippet. Thanks for sharing.

  7. So, is he going to migrate as well?

  8. pippajay says:

    Not sounding good.

Leave a Reply

