Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 172

Happy reading and I just have to share the news: Tourist Trap is a finalist for the 2011 Reader Views Literary Awards, Science Fiction! I’ll post the placing when I get it.

Year 2 Day 172

Songbird’s is not the only group of R’il’nian-like creatures here.

I’m not even sure they are the same species, as they seem to communicate more by gestures and scratching figures on the ground than by sounds. Certainly they did not understand me when I tried to speak to them in the language I learned from Songbird. In fact, they tried to attack me with their spears! But they are very similar. I will have to ask the shaman about them—it I can just figure out where this gather of theirs is!

I was exploring a lightly wooded savannah area, with gallery forests along the watercourses. It looked to me as if it would be an excellent hunting area for Songbird’s group, but not if it is claimed by another group. I wonder if they are the same species? If they can — or do — interbreed?

I should not take sides, especially as I think this new species is also intelligent. Certainly they make hunting tools and hunt cooperatively.

Do not interfere. I’m way past that. But I want company!

Have a look at the other SFF Saturday authors. And if you want more of Jarn’s story, his journal to date is on my Author Website.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 172

  1. JC Cassels says:

    I love Jarn’s loneliness. You bring it across so well. I’m really pulling for him.

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    Oh no! He’s interfering! Great stuff as usual!

  3. Why do I get the feeling he’s going to interfere more than he has already? /shrug Great snippet, as always! Love it!

    And, congrats on being a finalist! I hope you place well.

  4. nrgalloway24 says:

    You couldn’t see my excitement, but I’m really loving the character Jarn. My reaction was something like “Yay, more Jarn.” At which point, my husband flashed me a puzzled look and turned back to the television shaking his head. I purchased “Homecoming” this week, so I don’t have to wait until Saturday anymore. I love the descriptions of the terrain you use. I can picture the world so vividly, I feel like I could visit. Great Snippet! Congrats on the nomination! Keep me updated keep the snippets coming!

    • Jarn is way back in history for the people of Homecoming–but he’s an ancestor of all of the Human characters. (And us, in my SF universe.) That’s well in the future of what I’m posting, though. I’m afraid you’ll have to keep coming back Saturdays.

  5. Gayle Ramage says:

    First of all, congratulations on the Tourist Trap news! I’ll keep everything I can crossed for you!

    I really feel Jarn’s desperation for company in this piece. Something tells me he’s going to interfere big-time. 🙂

  6. I WANT him to have company. Interfere, interfere!

Leave a Reply

