Jarn’s Journal Year 2, day 140 #SFFSat

The headaches have almost disappeared. Score another round to my esper instructors.

They kept telling me that my headaches were analogous to sore muscles when I tried something new physically. Well, they were right. Over the last few fivedays I have seen more parts of this continent than I have over the past two years, and while my head felt as if it was going to explode the first few days, I can now go almost anywhere I have seen and levitate to a height which is uncomfortably cold with no headache at all. And once I am high enough, I can pick out landmarks and teleport to them with little effort.

It is a large continent that I have landed on. To the north, trees and watercourses become steadily more frequent until finally I find myself in jungle. By the sun, this jungle continues past the equator, bordered to the north by more savannah and eventually by true desert, drier than anything near my shelter. Farther yet, I came to a great salt sea.

For a longer version, see my main blog. For all of Jarn’s Journal to date, see my author site. For snippets from other science fiction witers, visit Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2, day 140 #SFFSat

  1. Gayle Ramage says:

    I love the idea of him being able to teleport and levitate. 🙂

  2. jccassels says:

    Hooray! His feet are saved! Nice twist.

  3. I know where he is! This is pretty cool!

  4. I love the way the prose reads. It feels very authentic to something written in a journal. I love reading about Jarn and was so excited when I got to your name. Thanks for sharing! Keep writing! Can’t wait for next week

  5. Great description of his surroundings. One can hear his joy at being able to ‘get around’ coming through this snippet.

  6. I’m glad his headaches have cleared up! I also think it’s neat that I can tell where he is.

  7. T.K. Toppin says:

    Great stuff, as always! Look forward every Saturday to see Jarn’s progress.

    • Thanks for the comments, everyone. I’ll be by yours later–Alaska’s in a far west time zone, and I have an Authors’ lunch to get to today. If you have blogspot and I don’t comment, it’s because I can’t unless name/URL is an option.

  8. Great descriptions of his surroundings. Makes me curious to see more of this planet he is on.

  9. Wouldn’t it be great to see the places he is seeing!

    • If I can figure out one or more of the free stock photo sites, I’ll start including photos of Africa. The natural areas didn’t look all that different 125,000 years ago, climate similar to today, some animals gone extinct.

Leave a Reply

