Jarn’s Journal Day 730 #SFFSat

Here’s a little more from the fictional journal of a human-like alien stranded on Earth, in Africa, roughly 125,000 years ago. There is a longer version on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author website. Stop by and read the other authors who post snippets on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

I have been here two years today – or perhaps tomorrow, or yesterday. Solstice to solstice is 365 days, give or take a couple. With time, the uncertainly will become smaller. With time. I do not want more time here, I want to go home!

I can almost see R’adel’, almost hear his voice. Jarn, what were you thinking? No proximity override, no sublight emergency beacon, scarcely any supplies? The answer is simple, if painful: I was not thinking.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Day 730 #SFFSat

  1. Poor Jarn! His pain and anguish come through so clearly in this snippet. And his self-berating for his stupidity. Great post!

  2. Gayle Ramage says:

    I feel so sad for Jarn. Full of regret, I suspect.

  3. jccassels says:

    Poor Jarn! I really have sympathy for him. You’ve done a wonderful job of illustrating his misery.

  4. Aw, that’s just sad. The poor guy is falling into despair. I suppose I would, too….

  5. T.K. Toppin says:

    Oh, I’m feeling sorry for this guy. So homesick and melancholy. Yet another great snippet!

  6. Love the epistolary style. Great snippet.

  7. I feel bad for him. Something good needs to happen to the poor guy!

  8. I’m back! Did I miss anything? … Crap! I didn’t go forward enough. I’ll have to recalibrate the device again. Sorry!

  9. Wow! I feel really bad for Jarn! I wish I could go back in time to help him. … Wait a minute. I can! I’ll be right back.

  10. pippajay says:

    So why did he go out so unprepared? Why wasn’t he thinking?

    • By R’il’nian standards, he’s young (only a few centuries) and was very pleased with himself for having designed an improved starship at such a young age. This was intended to be a shakedown cruise, not a long-term exploration, and he met with a once-in-a-million accident. He’s being forced to grow up now, though.

Leave a Reply

