Jarn’s Journal, Day 712 #sffsat

More from the Journal of Jarn, the fictional journal of an alien stranded on Earth, in Africa, about 125,000 years ago. A longer version is on my main blog, and the whole Journal to date is on my author website. Be sure and visit the other authors on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

Day 712

Well, I am alone again – alone as I have not been, except for a few days, since I rescued Songbird. The nomads left this morning. I teleported to their camp to see them off, and even accompanied them for the first hour or so. But by then my feet were starting to protest, and I bade them a good journey and joy at the Gather and teleported back to the shelter.

Are my feet so different from theirs? They look the same, except that Songbird has calluses on her feet that are thicker than the soles on the remains of my ship shoes. I don’t think she was born with them; a baby was born this summer and her feet looked like normal baby feet. Perhaps they grow extra skin thickness on their feet, just as I grow replacement teeth?

My feet burn on the sand, are cut and bruised by the rocks, and blister when I try to improvise something approximating shoes. In general I find it quite impossible to walk without injury.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jarn’s Journal, Day 712 #sffsat

  1. Gayle Ramage says:

    I hope he doesn’t stay alone for long.

  2. T.W. Fendley says:

    Interesting comparison of the foot calluses to teeth.

    • Being 9 hours behind you UK types, I’ve just gotten up and to the comments. Thanks to all of you. The teeth and the lack of aging (plus the ESP) are the main ways Jarn differs physically from the early humans. Teeth are subject to wear; that’s why horses’ teeth keep growing–but an old enough horse will run out of tooth, as my 35-year-old did. (He survived on complete pelleted feed, but couldn’t chew grass his last couple of years.) When I wanted to make my R’il’nai non-aging, I had to do something about the teeth, so I imagined they had stem cells in their mouth that could continuously generate new tooth buds. Mammals seem limited to two sets, but other animals (sharks, some dinosaurs) replaced them many times, so why not an alien species?

  3. I feel bad for Jarn! He needs to get better shoes. 😉
    I hope he finds company soon. I hate being lonely.

    • This is 125,000 years ago–no shoe stores, and Jarn’s computer is singularly lacking on instructions on how to make shoes. His are falling apart, and the people of the tribe have never even thought of foot coverings.

  4. Forgot to mention that the snippet is quality work, as always. I’m so tired this morning!

  5. Maybe he should learn that one works through the blisters, and then the shoes become wearable.

  6. T.K. Toppin says:

    Poor little tender-foot! Nothing like a little time running around barefooted to thicken those soles. Great snippet, and it brings out the vast differences in development. As advanced as Jarn is, his advancement has affected his ability to walk for long periods…

  7. jccassels says:

    Jarn gives new meaning to the term ‘tenderfoot’ poor thing. Great snippet.

  8. This was a little emotional. I can relate to the loneliness and being… different. Good snippet.

  9. Aww, this made me feel lonely too. Nothing like being alone in a strange land. 😦

  10. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Yikes! Rest those tired feet.

  11. Ouch! Sounds like the environment is not nice to his footsies.

    Good snippet.

  12. Cool, description of the feet. Hopefully he’ll come up with something for his feet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

