Jarn’s Journal day 625 #sffsat

This is an excerpt from the Journal of Jarn, a fictional alien who was stranded in southern Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He has found a tribe of early Homo sapiens, and in spite of the rule he has been taught about emerging sapient species — “Do not interfere” — he has found himself drawn into an ever closer relationship with them. A somehat longer version is on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author site. The Journal recounts events that were pivotal in the founding of the Confederation, where both of my science fiction novels are set.

I teleported to the nomads’ camp today. The shaman asked me about the fish trap Songbird had made after seeing a picture on my computer, and after I answered I asked the shaman why the nomads did not stay in one place as some of the lions and wild dogs do.

“We follow the food,” she said, and I was reminded of my own early struggles to find things I could eat. I could teleport to where food was abundant, once I found where that was. These people could not. But the shaman continued. “Also, we go to meet with other clans. The young people find mates at the Gather, and it is a good place to trade ideas. But if we stayed there, as you stay at your shelter, there would not be enough food.”

I was reminded of what Songbird had said, when I first asked her why her parents had left her, and the questions I had then about the role of the shamans. “If mates come from different clans, what determines which clan they stay with?”

Visit the other authors on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal day 625 #sffsat

  1. I never thought I would be interested in this type of stuff, but you’ve proven me wrong. I loved another snippet you gave from this book a few weeks back. Nice!

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    Oh, the temptation to NOT interfere! It must be hard…great snippet. I’m starting to feel Jarn’s frustration…

  3. Your anthropological ideas are riveting–I’m so into this world. I want to know everything about it as much as Jarn does!!

  4. jccassels says:

    I love the culture you’ve created. What determines which clan they stay with?

  5. I’m becoming more and more enthralled with your story with each snippet. Great stuff!

  6. Jarn is such a great observer. He sees everything … and reports on it so well.

  7. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Wonderful as always. When do we get to read the whole thing?

  8. I’m going to have to read your longer version! Intriguing. I’ve read prehistorical romances etc when I could find them. Right now an editor at Lyrical is looking for something prehistoric and I’ve been researching, but I keep veering into fantasy!

    • I started this with the idea of interweaving Jan’s Journal (which has progression, but no real plot) with a novel set in much more recent time (around 10,000 years ago) but on another planet. If I ever get the trilogy (set in our own time, but mostly not on earth) polished up and published, I might go back to the novel of the first Kharfun plague. Meanwhile I’m just writing this “history” a week at a time to give some of the remote background of my two published science fiction books.

  9. Diane Dooley says:

    Will Jarn ever go to a Gather? I bet his observations would be fascinating. I always enjoy your snippets.

  10. pippajay says:

    Is he perhaps a little concerned about where Songbird might end up?

Leave a Reply

