Jarn’s Journal Day 610, Evening.

More of Jarn’s Journal for today’s SFF Saturday. Jarn is alien, a Ri’l’nian, and he is stranded on Earth in southern Africa roughly 125,000 years ago.

I wish this planet didn’t have sentient inhabitants, or at least that they were not so much like me. “Do not interfere,” ha! How can I help but interfere?

As I thought, the two adults were Songbird’s parents, decked out in their best finery, and the smaller, aged figure was the person I’ve been calling – and might as well continue calling – the shaman. I suspect clan-mother would be more accurate, as most of her advice seems to come from experience and tradition. I do not know how old she is, but Songbird’s mother is the daughter of her daughter. She is bent and wrinkled, and the few teeth she has left are worn down to nubbins – yet I think from some of the things she said that she is younger than I am.

When I asked her how she knew I would rescue Songbird, while Songbird was showing my “calendar” to her parents, she looked half puzzled. “Sometimes I know when someone is going to die. I knew I could not heal Songbird, and yet I did not feel her death coming. ”

A slightly longer version of this snippet is on my main blog; the whole of Jarn’s Journal to date (I’m writing it as I go along) is on my author website. Other participating authors can be found at SFF Saturday. By the way, I understand SFF Saturday will be taking two weeks’ vacation. Jarn’s Journal will continue Fridays (Alaska time, which is pretty late UK time) on my main blog.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Day 610, Evening.

  1. @CaryCaffrey says:

    I’ve always enjoyed these posts, but I think I need to move to the ‘long’ post you linked to up above. These ten sentences simply aren’t enough for me.

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    I’m with Cary…these snippets are just too short! Yet another great post, thank you!!

  3. Misa says:

    I wonder if the shaman can see that Jarn isn’t human…?

  4. jccassels says:

    It’s all so very intriguing… I want MORE!

  5. QUOTE: “Sometimes I know when someone is going to die. I knew I could not heal Songbird, and yet I did not feel her death coming. “

    This gave me chills! What a way to drive the intrigue. Lull us with the beautiful details, then BAM!

    I always enjoy reading in your world–takes me back to my anthropology days… 🙂

  6. Cary, T. K., I count out the first ten sentences of the longer blog and post them here, to follow the rules. Misa, there were several kind of “human” in that time period, and probably some interbred to some extent. Chances are most were very dark-skinned (UV protection), but that’s something that evolves pretty rapidly as climate changes. The shaman undoubtedly knows Jarn is not the same kind of human she is, but takes him for some kind of supernatural being. JC, this is not really a novel, and so far I’ve written not quite the first two years of a saga lasting several thousand years. The civilization that results is the background of my novels, Homecoming and Tourist Trap. Heidi, I’ve tried to keep up with the anthropological research and make this compatible with what is known of human prehistory, though of course evidence for some of the things I assume has not survived and is not expected to survive. And Aston, this is not a SFF adventure, but back story. Jarn’s Journal will continue for the next two weeks on my main blog. I’m developing the details as I go along, but I have the broad brush of the next few thousand years figured out.

  7. DianaIlinca says:

    This is really interesting! Nice snippet 🙂

  8. pippajay says:

    I’m intrigued by the shaman.

Leave a Reply

