Jarn’s Journal Day 610, Afternoon SFFSat

Another installment of Jarn’s Journal, excerpts from the (fictional) journal of the R’il’nian stranded on Earth some 125,000 years ago. His story is the back story for the science fiction universe behind Homecoming and Tourist Trap. A longer version of today’s entry may be found on my main blog, and the entire journal to date is on my author website.

The shaman is not at all what I expected. In fact, I am starting to wonder if “shaman” is even the right translation of the word Songbird used.

It occurred to me after Songbird had left on her errand that she’d told me her people were in the habit of giving gifts of food to visitors. One thing I was sure they would treasure was salt – easy enough for me to get, simply by teleporting seawater to my shelter and boiling it down. I’d replenished my stock a fiveday ago, so it was simple to fill one of my smaller gourds with the precious substance.

What else? A sweet, sticky fruit from the jungle to the north, as far away as I have memorized teleport coordinates, was at first as strange to Songbird as it was to me, but after one cautious trial it became a favorite for both of us. It was easy enough to teleport to a memorized part of the jungle, and probe mentally for the right kind of tree with a feel of ripeness. I plucked a huge leaf, teleported the fruit onto it from one of the branches too slender for the small primates gorging on the tree’s bounty, and then teleported it and myself back to the shelter. Wild melons were ripening, too, and I plucked one to temper the sweetness of the jungle fruit.

Visit the other SFF Saturday authors.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Day 610, Afternoon SFFSat

  1. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Your snippets are always a treat on these Saturday mornings.

  2. Aston West says:

    Man, that would be a great thing to be able to do when I’m sitting in watching TV and wanted to grab a snack from the fridge without getting up. 🙂

    Great snippet!

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Oh, to be able to teleport! Yet another great treat – wish I could teleport into next Saturday to see your new post!!

  4. Misa says:

    Jarn must be very strong not to take advantage of this situation.

  5. I love how one must know the coordinates before being able to teleport–it makes sense and gives your magic real rules in this world. Nice!

    • Not exactly magic — I’ve just made all the esper abilities my characters have subject to the conservation laws of physics — momentum, energy, angular momentum etc. Homecoming has quite a section where Roi is learning how the rules apply to teleporting. I have several posts on my main blog about it: here, here and here.

  6. Very believable . . . as far as science fiction goes, that is. Nice snippet! I like it.

  7. DianaIlinca says:

    Lucky. I wanna do that. Nice snippet 🙂

  8. Diane Dooley says:

    A shamen and teleportation in the same snippet. Very nice.

  9. pippajay says:

    I like how he’s putting such care into following their customs.

Leave a Reply

