Jarn’s Journal Day 599 #SFFSat

Another installment of Jarn’s Journal, excerpts for the (fictional) journal of the R’il’nian stranded on Earth some 125,000 years ago. His story is the back story for the science fiction universe behind Homecoming and Tourist Trap. A longer version of today’s entry may be found on my main blog, and the entire journal to date is on my author website.

Day 599

They’re gone!

I kept an eye on Songbird and her relatives for three days. It wasn’t as if I had anything else to do, and it salved my conscience a little over sending her back. This morning the camp was not just empty, but gone!

They don’t have much, of course. A few tanned hides for shelter, fire-hardened spears for killing game, cutting tools of flaked stone, gourds and baskets for carrying food and water …. Today nothing was left of the camp but thorn barriers, and those can be cut anywhere. I searched everywhere, but there was nothing. Far less than was left with Songbird.

Visit the other SFFSaturday authors.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Day 599 #SFFSat

  1. Aston West says:

    Nothing like a missing camp to drive up the suspense level…great little excerpt!

  2. Misa says:

    Oh no! I wonder if he will try to track them?

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Another great snippet. Good thing they travelled light…can’t say the same for me when I travel.

  4. gayleramage says:

    I wonder where they’ve gone.

  5. pippajay says:

    Wow! Not only where have they gone, but why?

  6. I had to read the longer version! One of my degrees is in anthropology so this really spoke to me.

    • I’m not an anthropologist, but I’ve tried to fit this in as well as I can to what is known about our evolution–with the additional twist of Jarn’s presence. Did you check out the whole Journal to date on my author site?

Leave a Reply

