Jarn’s Journal Day 595 #sffsat

This is from the Journal supposedly kept by Jarn, a human-like alien stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago, in interglacial times. A longer version of this day’s entry is on my main blog, and the entire Journal to date is on my author site. The whole story is part of the remote background of the Jarnian Confederation, where all my science fiction novels are set.

 Day 595

They have returned, and Songbird has rejoined them.

How am I going to survive with no one but Patches to talk to?

I have been spying on their camp, and they returned yesterday. It must have shown on my face when I teleported back to the shelter, because Songbird at once began saying, “Are they back?”

“Yes,” I said. “Do you want to go back to them?”

I was of two minds about this. Surely she was safer with me, and she was a child; it was my duty to guard her. Guard her, yes, my mind whispered, but she is not your property, and she has a mind and will of her own. Let the decision be hers.

Other SFFSaturday snippets

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Day 595 #sffsat

  1. Gayle Ramage says:

    I wonder if Jarn’s is going to be keeping an eye on her, from afar.

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    I wondered the same thing. Great snippet…keep it coming!

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    Ah, what will Songbird decide? Nice snippet!

Leave a Reply

