Jarn’s Journal, Day 575 #SFFS

This is part of the background (distant background, like about 125,000 years earlier) of the Jarnian Confederation, the setting for Tourist Trap and Homecoming. This is a continuation from last week. The entire Journal to date is on my author website, and a longer version of this post is on my main blog..

Day 575

The rain has reached my shelter.

Songbird has been saying for several days that she can smell rain and wet ash, and yesterday even I thought I could catch the scent of storm clouds, as well as see the lighting and hear the thunder. But last night we heard a great pounding on the roof, and when I opened the door the light from inside the shelter showed ice falling from the sky and bouncing on the ground around us.

“Hail,” Songbird said with satisfaction. “This rain is strong. Soon the grass will grow through the ash, and the game will return. And the People will follow them.”

She returned to her sleep, apparently lulled by the drumming on the roof. I found myself wondering what I would do without her.

Visit the other Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday snippets.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jarn’s Journal, Day 575 #SFFS

  1. I’ve been enjoying these short bits, but I want more. Is this out now, or is this part of a WiP?

  2. gayleramage says:

    Aw, such a sweet last line. I like the relationship between these two characters. 🙂

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Great snippet again. I look forward to the next.

Leave a Reply

