Jarn’s Journal Day 349

Jarn’s Journal gives the remote background of the Jarnian Confederation, where both of my science fiction novels, Homecoming and Tourist Trap, are set.  The earlier parts of the Journal are on my website. The full-length segment (this is only the first half) is on my main blog.

I can’t stand it any more! I should not interfere – but how can it be right to abandon a child to such pain and thirst? How can I have the right to stay aloof while she is dying, and I could save her?

There are problems quite aside from the ethical ones. It is unlikely that I can teleport her from where she is to my shelter – it is at least a five-day journey, walking. She certainly cannot walk that far, nor do I trust myself to build nightly camps where she would be safe.

Other authors on SFF Saturday:

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Day 349

  1. Misa Buckley says:

    I’m very curious as to who this person is, and why they’re so bothered about the child.

    Intriguing!

  2. J.A. Beard says:

    Interesting. I like the alien anthropological viewpoint and the accompanying moral and ethical issues.

  3. Great bit of conflict.

  4. pippajay says:

    Very touching that an alien could care about a child of another race when, if he’s stranded there, he has problems of his own surely.

    • Look at the previous parts of the Journal on my website, http://sueannbowling.com. Jarn is an empath–he literally feels the emotions and physical sensations of others. He comes from a culture where all self-aware beings are valued, and he’s already had serious doubts about the morality of interfering in any way with elephants and great apes. But he’s stuck there, in Africa 125,000 years ago, and has just discovered early humans.

  5. Merle Mcphee says:

    Do actually suppose this is true?

    • This is the science fiction background to my science fiction universe. No, not intended to be true, but I’ve done my best to make it something that could have happened, especially regarding the climate and fauna of Africa 125,000 years ago and the state of evolution of our ancestors at that time.

Leave a Reply

