Jarn’s Journal Year 11 Day 106 #sffsat

SFF LogoClick on the logo for links to other fantastic authors.

Year 11 Day 106

I am going to have to start paying more attention to what I say, even casually.

I had to dispose of Patches’ body, and I was a little worried that the People would in fact take it as an insult if I buried her as if she were one of them. Sending her to the stars seemed a good way to comfort WildDog.

I forgot anything I said would be taken as the pronouncements of a god.

WildDog did not forget. He studied the stars, and decided the brightest star he could see must be Patches’ heart. He then informed anyone who would listen (which included most of the folk at the Gather) that the god Jarn had rewarded Patches for her faithfulness by putting her in the sky, where he happily pointed out her heart, her head and her feet.

What was really annoying was that most of them could see the outline he pointed out, and by the time the People left to follow the game, the bright star was the dog star, the group of stars was being referred to as the great dog, and there was a buzz of speculation as to what I would next put in the Heavens.

It’s a good thing I have a project: the Northern ice cap. It should be the right time of year to finish exploring its edge.

I’ll be at the Alaska Writers’ Guild conference this weekend, so I’ll be a little late commenting on blogs and responding to comments on mine.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Jarn’s Journal Year 11 Day 106 #sffsat

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    So is this how Sirius first became identified as the Dog Star? I like this – a very neat way of tying in your account into what will become ancient myth.

Leave a comment